Roanoke Route Walking Tour Stop 8: Stationmaster's House

Stationmaster’s House, 1908

308 Oak St.

The 'Stationmaster's House' was constructed in 1908, at a time when the train line along Hwy. 377 had long been completed in 1881 by the Texas and Pacific Railway. The role of the stationmaster held significant importance for both the railway and the broader community. H.G. McDonald, who began his career with the railroad as a telegraph operator, worked his way up to become the stationmaster, a position he held for 32 years until the train depot closed in 1955. Upon Mr. McDonald's retirement, a story was passed down that, as a token of appreciation for his long years of service, the railroad company relocated a large stepping stone from the train depot. 

The 'Stationmaster's House' is notable for its distinctive arched front porch and has been home to several businesses throughout its history.

H.G. McDonald was Roanoke’s stationmaster for 32 years, after working his way up from telegraph operator for the Texas & Pacific Railroad. McDonald 2010275

This photo of the house was taken from the Gillespie/Seagraves home in 1953. You can see a hint of the distinctive arches on the left side. Rooftop Stationmaster 20102149

A July 4th parade float passes by the Stationmaster’s house during the 1970s. Stationmaster 1970s 2022911Stationmaster business 20214447