Roanoke Route Walking Tour Stop 1: Old Fire Station

Old Fire Station, 1941

200 Main St.

Built around 1941, this structure was established on the grounds where Roanoke's first post office–dating back to 1881–possibly once stood. Initially, it served as Roanoke's primary fire station and city jail, housing the night watchman's cell. In 1949, an addition was added to accommodate Roanoke's first fire truck, which had been acquired in 1945. The city purchased the 1923 American LaFrance fire truck from the City of Fort Worth for a mere $500. Today, this retired fire truck is housed in a building situated behind City Hall, where visitors can marvel at its beautiful restoration. The City's original city hall, library, and community center were once located on the eastern side of this building. 

The old fire station, city jail, and home of the night watchman, taken in the 1970's. 

Fire 1970s 20091136

The old fire station in 1982. The back section was added in 1949 to house the City’s first fire truck.

Fire 1980s 20091142 Fire